Press Release: Disclosure of Lists of Polling Station Location and Voter Registration

Disclosure of lists of polling station location and voter registration is the work which the National Election Committee (NEC) is preparing at this stage to prepare for the 3rd Mandate of the Councils Election on 26 May 2019. This is the remarks by His Excellency Hel Sarath, NEC member, in a stakeholder meeting on the disclosure of list of polling station location and voter registration, certifying and delivering the name lists through hieratical level to NEC at NEC conference hall on the morning of 25 February 2019.

Participants in the meeting included: representatives of the Constitutional Council, the Senate, the National Assembly, the Ministry of Interior, the Ministry of Information, 10 political parties, representatives of Embassy of Japan, 11 non-governmental organizations, 8 press entities and NEC officials, totaling 90 persons.

His Excellency Hel Sarath added that disclosure of lists of polling station location shall be made on 25 February 2019 at the Provincial/Capital Election Commission (PEC) and at the Commune/Sangkat offices across the country, and posted on the website of NEC as well. For voter registration, he explained that because the election was a non-universal election, only commune/sangkat councilors in position are voters to vote for the councils; therefore, voter registration shall be conducted at commune/sangkat offices by recording the voter’s name into voter lists and it shall be transferred to NEC hierarchically. The date of voter registration shall start from 4 to 27 March 2019, of which the period is divided into two phases:

  • Phase I: Voter registration at commune/sangkat offices with 13 days regardless of Sunday and holidays determined by the Government.
  • Phase II: Delivering voter lists having already been prepared from the communes/sangkat at the hierarchical level (from communes/sangkat to municipality/district/khan, then to capital/provinces and to NEC) within 7 days.

His Excellency also highlighted that the voter lists, whose names of commune/sangkat councilors in position are recorded, shall be signed by chief of commune/sangkat with a stamp of commune administration, then sent to the administration of municipality/district/khan and to the administration of concerned capital/provinces. The Governor of governor board of municipality/district/khan and the Governor of governor board of capital/provinces shall have the task in monitoring, verifying and certifying its approval on the name list of commune/sangkat councilors in positions of all communes/sangkat located in municipality/district/khan of concerned capital/provinces in the event that the name list of commune/sangkat councilors in positions of each commune/sangkat proved accurately.

It is noted that during the voter registration period, all political parties, which have been properly registered in compliance with the Law on Political Parties at the Ministry of Interior, have the right to appoint their agents to observe this process by submitting their application form to PEC from 25 February 2019 to 1 May 2019.

Call Web Officer: 096 69 09 778